Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Deconstructing a combat report - 50 Sqn 30 Mar 1944

Thanks

Default Deconstructing a combat report - 50 Sqn 30 Mar 1944

I have a combat report for one of my subjects and it appears there was a mixed crew on board for their mission to Nuremburg on the night of 30/31 March 1944 when they drove off an ME109 and put in a claim.

The regulars (when they were lost on the night of 25 Apr 1944) were:
    Captain - F/O Lennox Durham, DFC, 156302, RAFVR
    Flt.Eng. - Sgt. Francis Patrick Brown, 1583464, RAFVR - notation after is "(4?4)" but can't read it, transfer?
    Navigator - F/S Eric Stanley Jones, 1321095, RAFVR
    A/Bomber - W/O Russell George Brock, DFC, J/85520, RCAF
    WO/AG - F/S Dennis Leonard Reynolds, 1453495, RAFVR

The gunners:
    MU/AG - F/O Crawford No. 1 B&GS No. 29 OTU
    Rear A/G - F/S Roberts No. 3 B&GS No. 14 OTU

Can anyone tell me why they would have two OTU gunners on this flight? Was Crawford perhaps an instructor and Roberts a trainee? (Judging by ranks?). They were not with the crew when it was lost later.

Also, the report is signed by a F/Lt Beal...., Gunnery Leader at 50 Sqn but I can't make out his signature. Can anyone identify him?
    Last edited by dfuller52; 11th January 2011 at 10:19. Reason: spelling
    David

Thanks

Hi David,

It's conceivable that both OTU gunners had completed their tours and were instructors. We've all read how many BC veterans hated instructing and a F/Sgt really isn't that low on the rank structure to be a trainee.

One thing I've noticed, and Hugh can correct me if I am mistaken, is that a lot of the "J" RCAF numbers followed by 8 or 9 were posthumous commissions. I base that point strictly on going through about 400 RCAFservice files, nowhere near the volume of guys like Hugh or Richard K. Your man Brock is a W/O with an officer's number. Hugh's database confirms my thoughts on this as he is listed as a P/O on Hugh's database: