Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: F/Lt PJ Hall POW

Thanks

Default F/Lt PJ Hall POW

Could anyone possilbly tell me how F/Lt PJ Hall became a POW. All I know is that he was in Stalag Luft III , Sagan in June 1943 at which stage his rank was F/ Lt. He was a Pilot by trade so should appear in someones library as either a Pilot or potentially a Navigator.
    I have found a F/O PF Hall as pilot of Mosquito DZ316 9/5/43, which would also make a very recent promotion so is unlikely.
    PJ Hall can not be found in “Footsteps on the Sands of Time” by Oliver C-B therefore I presume he must be outside Bomber Command. Does anyone have anything on Fighter or Coastal Commands that may match a man by these initials (PJ Hall) shot down before this date? Sorry to be so vague, I am trying to identify from a photograph and have no service number.
    Thank you
    James

Thanks

Hi James,

Are you sure of the initials.

There was a F/L Charles Piers HALL (50896) who was at Stalag Luft III. He was one of the 50 executed for taking part in the Great Escape.

He was a pilot with 1 PRU and became a POW on 28 Dec 41 with the rank of P/O.

Probably not your man but you never know.

Best Regards

Andy Fletcher
    Per Speculationem Impellor ad Intelligendum

Thanks

Hi James and Andy,

To make things more complicated: Peter Frank Hall was in Stalag Luft Sagan from 22nd May 1943 till 27th January 1945 and was also involved with the tunnel escape too and selected to escape, however before his turn the whole escape operation was discovered. His rank on his Liberation Questionnaire is F/Lt, at the time of his capture F/O.

So, no answer to the identity of the Hall you're looking for, but perhaps this background might contain clues for your research.

Regards,
    Hans Nauta

Thanks

Dear Andy and Hans