Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RAF - Geoffrey Basham and F/L FH Phillips DFC

Thanks

Default RAF - Geoffrey Basham and F/L FH Phillips DFC

Hi,

Can anyone help me please. I'm trying to trace a chap named Geoffrey Basham and I have limited knowledge of RAF terms and I have very limited information about the man himself. However I have some dates and numbers, so maybe someone could make sense of it.

33PDC 2 squadron, Germany 1947 X

422 AFAP 399MU BAFO 1946

Any help would be very much appreciated, thanks in anticipation
    Sandra

Just remembered Handley Page was also mentioned, don't know if it was a plane, a place or something else, hope someone else knows!
    Last edited by Jagan; 17th November 2013 at 03:02. Reason: More Descriptive Thread Title

Thanks

Sandra, Welcome.
    33PDC is probably No 33 Personnel Dispatch Centre.
    399MU is No 399 Maintenance Unit.
    BAFO is British Air Force of Occupation (in Germany).
    A Geoffrey Edward Basham's Birth was Registered at Edmonton in Sep 1900.
    A Geoffrey Edward Basham is noted several times in the London Gazette with the RAF Officer number of 35385 (in the Technical Branch).
    A Geoffrey Edward Basham's Death is Registered in Honiton, Devon, in 1979.
    These 3 may be the same person?
    If you need to really start from Square One in this game then send me either a PM, or email, and I'll try to point you in the right direction(s)!
    HTH
    Peter Davies
    Meteorology is a science; good meteorology is an art!
    We might not know - but we might know who does!

Thanks

Default RAF

Hello Peter

Thank's for replying to my message, I was just trying to find some info for a friend of mine and I have passed it all on and if she thinks its the right info I will then ask her to contact you.