Thread: Help Finding Service Records (RAF WWII)

Thanks

Default Help Finding Service Records (RAF WWII)

My name is Charles Frederick Davies and I'm writing from New Zealand in the hope someone can shed some light on My Grandfather, Charles Frederick Fisher. He served as a navigator aboard Lancasters with the Pathfinder Force. From wedding photos it appears he was either a sergeant or flight sergeant (photo is unclear).

I have a group photo of D Flight, No. 4 Squadron of 17 ITW (which I believe was in Scarborough?) from May 1943 before being stationed briefly in South Africa for flight training and this is the only record of any group of which he was part.

He died before I was born and my family moved from Macclesfield to Auckland, New Zealand so we have had very few records and photos to go by. I'm a soldier with the Countess of Ranfurly's own 3rd Auckland Regiment and I've become very interested in my family's military history.

I have tried in vein to dredge up any information on him, his unit or even where he was stationed. Of all of the forums I have come across, this one seems to have the most comprehensive and detailed information so If anyone can help in any way that might lead to finding his service number or record, it would be greatly appreciated by my family and I.

Thanks,

Charles

Thanks

Default Information for you.

Hi Charles
    The best place to obtain his would be from RAF Cranwell. Is your Grandmother still alive because if so she can get them for free. If she isnt it will cost you 30 but it is worth it I gather. Heres a link that will help you:
    http://www.veterans-uk.info/service_records/service_records.html
    If you do go for it then make sure you get a photocopy not a transcription. If there is stuff you dont understand its better to have the original cos the experts will be able to decipher lots of it...