Thread: ORB photo's

Thanks

Default ORB photo's

Hi,
    I am tempted to purchase an ORB from the N/A, in which there are a large amount of photographs. My question is, when they arrive on CD, will they be proper photo's or will they be in negative form.
    tia....Alan.

Thanks

Hi Alan,

unfortunately I have no experience with this but when I was taking snapshot of ORBs from the film reader I have them also as negative form.
    There are available good, simply and free of charge picture viewers which will convert the negative form to normal one by one click.
    If you need any more details please feel free to PM or email me.

Pavel
    Czechoslovak Airmen in the RAF 1940-1945
    http://cz-raf.webnode.cz

Thanks

Hi Alan,

Depends on the type of original.

Where the ORB is paper i.e. any series other than AIR27 and AIR50 then the image shows photographs as a positive. One thing to watch is glare from the lighting that can render the photo useless if not tilted. From the TNA they are 300 dpi. Higher quality from "personal shoppers".

Microfilm AIR27 that I have received were the original low resoulution negative but as Pavel says they can be turned into positives by some post processing by other photo manipulation packages.

Regards
    Ross
    The Intellectual Property contained in this message has been assigned specifically to this web site.
    Copyright Ross McNeill 2015/2018 - All rights reserved.

Thanks

Pavel/Ross,
    Thanks for the replies, the ORB in question is AIR27/1068, 161sqdn, and lists 41 photographs of personnel, crashed aircraft and funerals etc. Pavel, could you let me know which software i will need if i get the ORB, as i've also got some in the 22sqdn SAAF ORB that i've had for a few years, that i would like to look at. On the subject of copying, the N/A seem to have reduced the resolution quality recently, cannot enlarge the files as much as they used to, without them starting to blur.
    Thanks..........Alan