Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: DFC to Flt Lt - Can you help?

Thanks

Default DFC to Flt Lt - Can you help?

Hi my name is Stuart, and i am an ex infantry soldier with passionate interest in medals (i.e i court mount medals and frame etc the way it should be done). When a charming oldish chap asked me to re ribbon a DFC which is unusual but happens to be named. A quick story behind it is that it belongs to his father and only came to light when his mother died. He believes his father died after the WW2 where he believes he was a test pilot and died in the USA. His mother re married, and her second husband brought him up as his son. The medal was issued on June 29th 1944 - F/lt H. Blow. he knows very little else about it, the medal is still in the original box but is a bit shabby. the questions what i would like to ask is 1) what he did to receive the medal. 2) what he was doing at the time he received the medal. 3) Shed a a light on when he died. i.e. was he a test pilot? or did he die on the operation he won the DFC on. Any dates and times and operations would be more than welcome. There is a bit more to the story and i could always put up an attachment of the medal if any one would like to look at it.

Thanks

Hi
    One candidate which looks very promising, is F/O Harold Blow of 9sqdn, DFC award shown as of 27/06/44, London Gazette. If this is your man, i will have a look through the 9sqdn ORB (Operations Record Book) for details.
    Alan
    Last edited by AlanW; 4th October 2011 at 08:41.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by AlanW View Post
    Hi
    One candidate which looks very promising, is F/O Harold Blow of 9sqdn, DFC award shown as of 27/06/44, London Gazette