Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Photos in WW2 RAF service files

Thanks

Default Photos in WW2 RAF service files

Greetings to all

Just joined. Some of you know me. I am a researcher in Canada and was wondering if I could get some information on RAF service files. I understand that the UK privacy laws are more stringent than here in Canada but was wondering how often do the RAF service file contain photographs of the airman? In RCAF files, mostly Bomber Command, the average is about 75% of the time. The earlier in the war then that's where the photos are most often missing.
    If any members have questions about RCAF Bomber Command service files don't hesitate to ask.
    All the best

Danny

Thanks

My experience of RAF personnel records is my grandfather's records and there isn't a photo with the items we were sent.
    Alan Clark

Peak District Air Accident Research

http://www.peakdistrictaircrashes.co.uk/

Thanks

Danny,
    All the ones i've seen have no photo's.
    Alan.

Thanks

Default RAF Service Records

I found my Grandfather's Service Record, most disappointing. Two sides of a large pink card and little more than what we have on the "Certificate of Discharge" sent about three months after he was killed.

Another member of the Squadron, has his full Service File with medicals etc., photocopied, about 50 sheets.

I telephoned the RAF address (some years ago) from where the photocopies of the pink Service Record card were issued from and requested the full file. The reply was, that is all they have there at Gloucester.