Thread: Flight Lieutenant William Norman Cook, D.F.C., R.A.F.V.R. (155754), 35 Squadron

Thanks

Default Flight Lieutenant William Norman Cook, D.F.C., R.A.F.V.R. (155754), 35 Squadron

Hello!

This is my first post on the forum and I'm new to RAF research, though I'm reasonably familiar with military records in general after having carried out research on military ancestors at the National Archives and elsewhere.

F/Lt W.N. Cook was my great-uncle. I googled his name yesterday and was fascinated to discover a thread on the forum about a year ago concering F/Lt Peter Coggan, who turns out to have flown many ops as a member of my great-uncle Bill's crew between July 1944 and April 1945 with 35 Sqn. One of the forum members, AlanW, provided a list of ops derived from the 35 Sqn operational records covering much of the period of Bill's active service, though not his first month or so of ops in June 1944 (I believe that his first op was over Caen on D-Day, or thereabouts).

I think I will have to go to Kew and look at the 35 Sqn operational record books - I've found their reference number online. They appear to be complete for the period of his operations (June 1944 until, I think, April 1945). Does anyone on the forum know of any pitfalls or issues I should look out for in using these records?