Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Searching for information on my Dad

Thanks

Default Searching for information on my Dad

Stanley Leonard Maurice Cox
    This is my first time posting a thread. My Dad was in the Royal Airforce during WW2. He won the DFM. My Dad passed away on 26 November 1992. He was born in Ealing on 14 March 1922. My Dad's DFM medal was stolen years ago and I can't find his service number, so have no information about him. Please, if someone could help me, I would appreciate it so much.

Thanks

Hi,

From AIR 78/38 which can be downloaded for free online from The National Archives

Regards
    Ross
    The Intellectual Property contained in this message has been assigned specifically to this web site.
    Copyright Ross McNeill 2015/2018 - All rights reserved.

Thanks

Hi Ross

Forgive me for being completely ignorant, but how to I go about downloading from the National Archives? Do I input my Dad's name? The number that you sent me, is that his service number? I am sorry, I have no idea what to do!
    Thank you so, so much for your help, I appreciate it more than you know.

Regards
    Vivienne

Thanks

Hello Vivienne

Try the link
    http://discovery.nationalarchives.go..._q=AIR+78%2F38

To get a Cox surname you will have to download the whole surname range between Cottonden to Crabb, 2 pdf files of about 256Mb, then scroll down the downloaded pdfs and look for his name.

Mark

Thanks

Thank you so much Mark, I am going to try that right now. I really appreciate you taking the time to help me.

Thanks

Vivienne,
    I have looked through a copy of the DFM Register by Ian Tavender and can find no trace of your father's name as a recipient of the DFM. Likewise his service number throws up no hits in the London Gazette (which would announce the award). Are you sure it was the DFM he got?

Rgds

Jonny
    In fond memory of Corporal James Oakland AGC (RMP), killed in action in Afghanistan on 22 October 2009. Exemplo Ducemus.

Thanks