Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: N.7334 Hudson - 3 March 1940

Thanks

Default N.7334 Hudson - 3 March 1940

Hello to everyone.

This is my first post and I would appreciate any help as I am a novice at research into WW2 RAF

I was recently handed a newspaper article from the Gravesend Reporter 9 March 1940 which reported an incident of an RAF aircraft being shot down by our own side. This is not my normal area of research.

All of the following information has come from the web in one way or another - I can provide the links for those interested. I have written it up as one piece and this is what I have so far.

Hudson N.7334

On the 3 March 1940 Hudson N.7334 was tasked with an operation to photograph RAF airfields as part of the recently formed Photographic Development Unit (PDU). This secret unit was part of a quickly evolving experimental photographic reconnaissance group that had been set up by Sidney Cotton on 22 September 1939 and named the Heston Flight after the civilian airfield that it operated from in Hounslow. The Heston Flight, as part of 11 Group Fighter Command, was re-named No.2 Camouflage Unit on 1 November 1939. On 5 November a separate unit was formed and named Special Survey Flight which was sent to France where it operated successfully developing techniques of photographic reconnaissance over enemy territory. By 17 January 1940 the whole unit had been re-named PDU and changed from experimental to fully operational.

The aircraft used for the mission was the first of a number of recently acquired American built Lockheed Hudson twin-engine and twin-rudder airplanes installed with a camera and with the rear gun turret not fitted. It was painted with a camouflage marking scheme that was different to the usual RAF pattern which would have dire consequences for the four man crew.