Thread: Sq\Ldr P F G Alcock DFC. Where was he 1941-44.

Thanks

Default Sq\Ldr P F G Alcock DFC. Where was he 1941-44.

Hi everyone,
    I'm new to his forum and came across it trying to find out about my uncle Peter (of the title). By looking through past posts here I ordered ORB's for 78 Sqdn & 139 Sqdn (1943-45) and as a result know what he got up to - well almost. He was in 78 Sqdn for 4 months (srgt) cutting his operational teeth on Whitley's - 11 sorties. His fifth was the ill fated Bremen bombing on the 11/12 feb '41 and was co-pilot in the A/C that crash landed nr. Kilmarnock (seen the Linton-on-ouse Op's board photo.) Unfortunately the Summary of events doesn't list postings, at least not for rank and file so I don't know where he went from here at the end of April 1941.
    139 Sqdn summary of events does show postings but this didn't help as he arrives here from 1655 mosquito training unit (MTU) late in September 1944 for the last six months of the war (F/Lft then Sq/Ldr) with main navigators A J Riddle DFC & G A L Webby. 1655 MTU ORB is not digitised at TNA and I currently can't get there.
    Has Anyone come across him in any other squadron/s? Family myth has him flying Wellingtons & Halifaxes and any help would be most appreciated.
    Thanks Jim.

Thanks

No.1655 MCU ORB lists him as posted out 23 Sept 1944 to No.139 Sqn.

No mention by name when he arrived but weather permitting the course was 4 weeks duration.

Regards
    Ross
    The Intellectual Property contained in this message has been assigned specifically to this web site.
    Copyright Ross McNeill 2015/2018 - All rights reserved.

Thanks

ALCOCK, Peter Frederick Granville, F/L (115866, RAFVR*) - No.139 Squadron - Distinguished Flying Cross - awarded as per London Gazette dated 21 September 1945. Citation in Air Ministry Bulletin 19736.