Thread: Mystery – Pilot’s signet ring returned to widow in 1946

Thanks

Default Mystery – Pilot’s signet ring returned to widow in 1946

I am hoping to tap into the experts on this site.

I have been researching Halifax HR732 MH-Y as an amateur since 2009. FTR 4 Dec 1943 Leipzig raid – all crew commemorated at Runnymede – no crash site ever identified.

The pilot’s widow received an official letter, June 1946, stating that her husband’s ring (pilot Arthur Jack Salvage) had been recovered and was in the process of being returned to her - she had not even identified it yet! I have a copy of this letter. The pilot’s wedding ring was eventually returned, by mail, and she was then able to positively identify the ring - it was damaged and blackened. From multiple sources I have confirmed the only inscription on the ring was the pilot’s initials A.J.S. – there was no other identifying information. There are more than 500 WWII servicemen with initials AJS recorded in the CWGC database.

Correspondence with the MoD (I have copies of all letters), in summary, “… The ring was obtained from German authorities by the British Army of Occupation on the Rhine. There is no information on where the ring was discovered nor any report on circumstances relating to its discovery ...”

D.W. Milliken (RG) RCAF – my uncle. I have his full 200 pg file from the Canadian Library/Archives. No MRES report and no useful information relating to a crash site.

For those with much more research expertise than myself my questions are the following;

Am I totally off base in assuming there is no way to connect the ring with pilot AJ Salvage without additional identifying artifacts such as his identity disk or service number sewn on his clothing?

Is it therefore possible/likely his body was found, identified, and then buried as an “Unknown Airmen” in what became East Germany “off grounds” to MRES efforts? Why he would not be in a marked grave is also a mystery?