Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: German night fighter controller running commentary

Thanks

Default German night fighter controller running commentary

I've seen many references to the running commentary provided for night fighters by the German controller when tracking a bomber stream. Are these commentaries archived anywhere, for example the intercepts of this commentary? Where is the best place to find more information or summaries for particular raids?

I'm particularly interested in the records for 21 January raid on Magdeburg.

Thanks in advance,
    Tim

Thanks

I'm no expert on this, but my understanding of "running commentary" was the relaying of coordinates obtained by radar to nightfighters trying to infiltrate the bomber stream. I doubt they were archived, and if they were, I suspect you'd find it dull reading. It was probably very efficient locating info only and not "commentary" in the sporting sense.
    David

Thanks

You're probably right, there's unlikely to be an archive though some of the commentaries I've read about would have made great reading, especially when the "ghost" controllers came along.

Perhaps a better question is, what sources did the people who quoted the running commentary rely on?

Thanks

Hi Tim - Interception and Tactics Reports include an outline on German Signals and Radio. The BC ORB Appendices in Air 24 also include a Signals Intelligence report for each operation, which gives a good outline of a raid from the German perspective (example uploaded for Berlin, 20/21 Jan 44).

HTH,

Richard
    Last edited by Richard; 6th October 2014 at 21:23. Reason: updated photo

Thanks

Thanks Richard, that's excellent, it's exactly what I was after. And only one day away from the one I'm looking for. Off to TNA I go!

Thanks

Which op are you looking for, Tim?

Thanks

21 January 1944 raid on Magdeburg, and in particular the Berlin spoof raid that was attempted as a decoy (but I don't expect to get much for that).

Thanks

Hi Tim,