Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Correct information?

Thanks

Default Correct information?

Whilst attempting to find out more information about my Uncle's last flight on 14-1-1944, I am seeing conflicting information regarding the crash site for his aircraft - ND423 (LQ-K).

Most reference points I've read indicate crash site unknown but I have also seen it documented as being at Uepsen, between Bremen and Hanover. As he and the rest of the crew have final resting places in Hanover, would I be correct in assuming that it can't be an unknown crash site and it is in fact Uepsen?

Which source/publication would you suggest as being able to provide the definitive answer to this?

As I am a complete novice at this, all assistance gratefully received.

Thanks

Hi Dave,
    3 members of your Uncle's crew were RCAF and in Chorley's Bomber Command Losses Vol 5 it seems to indicate that it was part of 8 Group Pathfinder Force, the target was Braunschweig. It might be an idea to contact Canadian Archives to see if their records have any other info on the flight and also I believe there is a Pathfinder's Association still in existence. Throughout the war the Germans treated fallen Allied airmen with reasonable respect and generally buried them close to the site where they fell,but, and it is a big BUT, as the war progressed the pressures of the Bombing Campaign began to tell on the German people and Authorities and the respect was eroded,sometimes drastically. They are shown by Chorley to be in Hanover War Cemetary and this may be the site used by the Germans at the time, but you should check with the Commonwealth War Graves Commission as, in the immediate post war period, they did re-bury many of our fallen by collecting their remains from their first resting places and bringing them together in larger more manageable Cemetaries. CWGC records may show if this was done with this crew and where they were originally.
    Hope this helps
    Regards
    Dick

Thanks

Dave