Thread: Atlantic Star

Thanks

Default Atlantic Star

I have just come across a case of the award of the Atlantic Star to an OR who died whilst serving in the North Atlantic. To qualify a recipient had to complete 6 months service in the North Atlantic, home waters or North Russia convoys, or to have their service period was terminated by death or disability due to active service.

I suspect such an award must have been quite unusual, as I can't think of many operations (other than ASR crews) that required an RAF OR to serve at sea.

Would any of our medal experts have any idea how many Atlantic Stars were awarded to RAF personnel?

Brian

Thanks

Hi Brian
    I'm no expert on medals, but would service as "groundcrew" for the catapult Hurricanes on CAM Ships qualify an airman for the medal (particularly if the ship he served on was sunk).
    You would know better than most what ranks might have been held by Met personnel on weather ships and there could also be the crews of ASR Launches operating in the Bay of Biscay and W of Ireland.. I also had an e-mail from the RAF Museum that indicated that as late as Nov 1940 there were still about 2000 RAF personnel providing the servicing on carriers and shore bases for Fleet Air Arm Sqns. It gives a reasonable range for RAF OR's to be in the right areas for the requisite period.
    Regards
    Dick

Thanks

Hello Brian
    The Atlantic Star was a campaign medal of the British Commonwealth, awarded for service in World War II.

The star was awarded for six months service afloat, in the Atlantic or in Home Waters, within the period 3 September 1939 to 8 May 1945. Also awarded to aircrew who have taken part in operations against the enemy at sea within the qualifying areas for Naval personnel, subject to two months service in an operational unit. The 1939-1945 Star must have been earned before commencing qualifying service for the Atlantic Star.