Thread: Tracing a Lancaster pilot. Help!!!!

Thanks

Default Tracing a Lancaster pilot. Help!!!!

Hello

I'm just beginning to trace the RAF career of my uncle Kenneth Austin Thomas. I have very few details of him and am normally to found researching family members activities during WW1 so I'm feeling a little out of my depth. The details I know of him are listed below:-

Kenneth Austin Thomas, born 1916, 9 Fairview Avenue, Levenshulme, Manchester.
    Rank. Sergeant
    RAF Occupation. Lancaster/Wellington pilot
    Civilian occupation. Mechanic for Tommy Spann (TT Motorbike racer)
    Possible service No. 1670546 (not been able to confirm this but definitely the correct name)
    Enlistment. Late 1941, early 1942
    Initial training. RAF Padgate, Warrington
    Further training. No1 flight, No4 Squadron, No 10 ITW (Scarborough)
    Awarded wings 1943, Manitoba
    Death. Approximately 1991
    I understand he was stationed at some point in Egypt, Bari and East Anglia. There are a few photographs but none appear to reveal any clues. One photo is a group shot showing him wearing the white cadet flash on his forage cap dated 1942, there are no other notes or names on the photo. A second shows him clearly sporting sergeants stripes. I also have a very poor quality copy of him and his crew standing in front of a Lancaster, the original bore the signatures of his crew but they aren't legible on my copy and the original is no longer available. I hope to visit my mother shortly and obtain copies of the photos.