Thread: Zenon Kozlowski, RAF No. 706483 (moved)

Thanks

Default Zenon Kozlowski, RAF No. 706483 (moved)

I am new to this particular forum, but have done family history for nearly 50 years. I was recommended to come here by a gentleman I met at the TNA.

I am researching the ancestry of a lady now living in Sweden, whose father was involved in the training of Polish air crews at RAF Newton in W.W.II. His name was Zenon Kozlowski, RAF No. 706483, born at Warsaw in 1920. I believe he died abroad in Spain in 1985. However his widow is still alive, but by now in her late 80s. Consequently I will not be able to generate the necessary paperwork to access his full RAF service record until my contact in Sweden and her two brothers visit with their mother, which will be in June/July time. Her belief is that Zenon Kozlowski escaped through Zakopane in the very south of Poland, over the Carpathian mountains into Bulgaria, and made his way to Palestine where he joined General Sikorsky. The family story is that he was part of the Polish forces sent into Tobruk early in 1942. Consequently he was quite late in joining the RAF, and never took part in active operations.

So I just wondered if this Forum could say anything useful, just based on these few snippets of information, and especially any educated guess when this RAF Number may have been assigned. I have looked at the Airbase Record for RAF Newton at the TNA in Class AIR 29/621, but I could not find his name immediately. This was home to No. 16 (Polish) Special Flying Training School from July 1941. Of course, I guess he could have been injured in field operations in the Polish Battalion abroad, and really just fulfilled a part in the administrative structure at RAF Newton.