Thread: Aircraftman 1st Class, WILLIAM ANGUS GILLESPIE MULLIGAN, 1374268, D 23/08/1943

Thanks

Default Aircraftman 1st Class, WILLIAM ANGUS GILLESPIE MULLIGAN, 1374268, D 23/08/1943

Newbie here, so apologies if the info I'm looking for is already on this site. Tried to check for same, but got a wee bit lost in the threads.
    Looking for info on the above man, for a friend.
    His name is on the family gravestone with this inscription, "William A G Mulligan, accidently killed 23rd august 1943 aged 22 years"
    He was the son of William and Mary Brown Mulligan, of Newarthill; and the gravestone is in 'LANARK, (ST. MARY'S) ROMAN CATHOLIC CEMETERY'
    I've found a death for a WAG Mulligan, but it was in Blyth, Northumberland; so not sure if this is the same lad.
    Not found anything on Findmypast's papers either for him- thought there might've been mention of an accident or something.
    Can anyone shed any light on how he was killed please?
    Thank you. :)

Thanks

Hi

Welcome to the Forum

He is listed as DOAS (Died in Active service), which implies a death from natural causes or a non-flying related accident such as a motor accident. His death is registered in Blyth so he could have been serving in the area at the time of his death or was travelling through that area.

Malcolm

Thanks

Many thanks Malcolm. Is there any way to find out if or where he was serving at that time? I take it, short of applying for his death certificate, that there's no real way of finding out how he was 'accidently killed'?

Thanks again- Carol.

Thanks

Carol, Hi -Welcome,
    There's probably a Coroners Inquest lurking in somebody's archives, or a Police Report? But the DC should give you the technical/medical reasons for death. Sometimes you also get what caused those reasons. Good luck.
    HTH
    Peter
    Last edited by Resmoroh; 27th September 2017 at 05:57. Reason: QSD
    Meteorology is a science; good meteorology is an art!