Thread: Lawson G Foley DSO 83 SQN

Hybrid View

Thanks

Default Lawson G Foley DSO 83 SQN

Hope I'm posting in correct category as it's my first time on the site. Have found out that my 2nd cousin received the DSO 26 Oct 1945 while serving in 83Sqn. His full name is Lawson George Foley. Has anyone any info on his service record or can I access it?
    Think he was a FL or Squadron leader. Thanks

Thanks

Hello Traysha44, and Welcome,

FOLEY, L. G. - D.S.O. LG: 26 Oct.1945 Flight Lieutenant (142901), R.A.F.V.R. , 83 Sq. "In recognition of gallantry and devotion to duty in execution of air operations."

Lawson George FOLEY. Served in the ranks, 956599 F/Sgt., Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve; (142901) P/O (P), 20 Feb. 1943; War Subs. F/O, 20 Aug. 1943; War Subs. F/Lt.; No.83 Sqn.; Served in air ops over Europe (DSO); Flight 13 Dec. 1945 has the following details for his D.S.O.: "Flt. Lt. Foley has served in both the Middle East and European theatres of war. As an air bomber and set operator he has consistently shown outstanding ability. He has always displayed cool courage and resolution in the face of the enemy. On one occasion in April, 1944, Fl. Lt. Foley's aircraft was badly damaged by enemy action and the equipment rendered unservicable. With great skill he guided his pilot in visually and the attack was successfully completed. Later this officer's aircraft was shot down over France, but he evaded capture and fought with the Maquis until able to resume operational flying again." Granted a permanent commn. as F/O 9 Feb, 1951 (Sen. 20 Dec. 1948); F/Lt., 4 Jun, 1953; Retired retaining the rank of S/Ldr., 6 Aug, 1966.

See:
    Companions of The Distinguished Service Order 1920-2006 - Air Awards.
    Hearns,Douglas V.P.
    Uckfield:Naval & Military Press,2011.
    p.148.

3-4 May 1944
    83 sqn
    Lancaster III JB402:OL-B
    Op: Mailly-le-Camp