Thread: Bomber crew posting in the North Africa, spring-summer 1943

Thanks

Default Bomber crew posting in the North Africa, spring-summer 1943

Hi all,

I am studying a case of a Wellington bomber crew attached to 1443 Flight which flew a Wellington to north Africa in the middle of April 1943. Then they were with 22 PTC for nearly two months, being taken on strenght of 205 Gp only in June. Before the end of June crew was posted to 40 PTC and wait there for another three weeks before being posted to an operational squadron.

So from my point of view it looks like a wasted three months when the crew can be already in operations. Were there any possible reasons for such a long period between the arrival and posting to the squadron? I suppose that this period pf war was quite a demanding on fresh crews as 205 Group was in operations against Sicily and Italy - supporting the invasion and preparing for the September one...

Anyone has any idea or can confirm that this a was a standard process at the time?

TIA

Pavel
    Czechoslovak Airmen in the RAF 1940-1945
    http://cz-raf.webnode.cz

Thanks