Thread: Looking for a place to start

Thanks

Default Looking for a place to start

Hello. I'm new here.
    I'm trying to research a relative of mine who was lost in January 1945 on a bombing mission and wanted to ask your advice on where to look. I have no experience in researching military matters.
    I was hoping someone on here might be able to offer me advice on where to look for more information.

He was the younger brother of my grandmother. Recently some of his possessions came into my keeping which is the reason for starting to find out more about him.

I know his name, service number and both of the squadrons he served with (467 Squadron and 617 squadron).
    Also I have some basic information about the sad story of his final mission, how his plane was shot down over sea, crew emerging and making it to a lifeboat.
    I have the medal (DFM) which he was awarded I believe in 1943, although I have no knowledge of what this award was for. I also have some photographs of his which look like a crew being briefed before a mission. (Documents on the table have been blacked out.) And many family photos.

He is well remembered within my family, but very little is known about his service career and we don't even know what mission the medal was awarded for, although I think it was awarded in 1943.

I would be very interested to find out more about him, what missions he took part in, and the story of his medal.

Should I contact the individual squadrons to ask about his service record?
    Or is there some central database that details this? I have found a few references to his award online, but only that he was awarded. No detail about the mission.

Any advice you can offer me on where to look would be most appreciated.

Thanks

Franko, Hi - and welcome to the Forum.