Thread: Female RAF personnel

Thanks

Default Female RAF personnel

Hi to everyone,

I was wondering if someone could help me with information on the following points:-

1. If an Aircraftswoman was based at an airfield, were they attatched to a Squadron or were they just an Aircraftswoman of whatever rank?

2. If the airfield say for example had 460 squadron based there would the Aircraftstwomen be classed as part of 460 Squadron - if she was working with that squadron - and would her records be adorned accordingly?

Sorry if the question seems a little vague, but as I have come across a few deceased Airwomen where there is no mention of Squadron status. As in some cases other non aircrew losses state RAF Regiment Squadron numbers and the like.

Thanks for you patience and understanding.

Steve.

Thanks

Hi Steve,

first of all I would like to note that she was definitely WAAF member, I have no knowledge of RAF airwomen.

As I know they could be both - attached to the station or to the squadron, it depens on particular posting and trade.
    For example parachute packers and drivers were attached to the station but some mechanics or meteoroligists could be attached to the squadron.

Pavel
    Czechoslovak Airmen in the RAF 1940-1945
    http://cz-raf.webnode.cz

Thanks

Default Female RAF Personnel

Few RCAF women personnel went overseas before mid-1943 and by that time the RAF (and RCAF) were well along in divorcing flying squadron personnel from the non-flying elements (including creation of Serving Echelons which put some distance between aircrews and those who serviced their machines). The RCAF women (WDs - for "Women's Division" who went overseas were posted almost exclusively to higher formations (i.e. RCAF Overseas Headquarters in London, No.6 Group Headquarters and various Base Headquarters in Yorkshire).