Thread: Meteorological Work - No.224 Squadron - James Lorenzo Nelson

Thanks

Default Meteorological Work - No.224 Squadron - James Lorenzo Nelson

While I am posting a length biographical note on 59552 James Lorenzo Nelson, I am principally seeking any accounts or anecdotes that may be available arising from his tour with No.224 Squadron on meteorological work, 1947 to 1950; he was awarded the Air Force Cross, 1 January 1951. Also, what might be the Communications Flight that he commanded, 1950-1951 ?

His personal story was posted on-line as follows: “I was born and raised in Southern Alberta, joining the RCAF in October 1942. After graduating as a pilot, I was transferred overseas to Bomber Command. In 1944 was posted to No.429 Squadron at Leeming, in Yorkshire, England, flying Halifax and Lancaster bombers against the enemy. After the end of the war I remained in England in the ‘Interim Force’ until the RCAF squadrons were disbanded in the year 1946. Prior to returning home in June 1946, we flew the last Canadian crewed Lancaster to the junk yard at Wroughton, England. Flying in England after the war consisted of transporting soldiers home from Italy and clearing out the various armament dumps as well as dropping unused bombs and ammunition into the Irish and North Seas.

“On returning to Canada I was engaged in buying grain until I joined the Royal Air Force in 1947 and transferred to No.224 Squadron based at Belfast, Ireland with a detachment in Gibraltar. The squadron was engaged in long range meteorological reconnaissance work out of Ireland and Gibraltar flying Halifax aircraft. After three years on the squadron I then went to southwest England at St.Eval as CO of a Communications Flight where I had a very interesting job of flying Coastal Command personnel to various parts of England, Scotland, Ireland and Europe.