Thread: Lancaster ME617 SR-N (101 Squadron).

Thanks

Default Lancaster ME617 SR-N (101 Squadron).

Lost night of 12th/13th August '44, Russelsheim.

Seeking further information on behalf of a crew relative to fill in some gaps on the story of this loss. ME617 was shot down over/just after target and I am trying to establish the cause (flak or fighter)? The sole survivor of the crew of 8 (ABC crew) was the rear gunner Sgt Bert H Cave, who on repatriation was unable to give an account of the night he was shot down. I have full crew list, raid details and details of events after the crash related to burials etc, any further information, particularly on Sgt Cave would be gratefully received.

As this is my first post I would like to confirm that I am an amateur Bomber Command enthusiast (of little or no merit) researching on a non-commercial basis!

Thanks

Alan.

Thanks

The raid on 12/13 August was targetted on Brunswick (Braunschweig). Approx 46 bombers were claimed by nightfighters but haven't checked bomber Command war Diaries yet. If you refer to Tony Woods website http://www.lesbutler.ip3.co.uk/tony/tonywood.htm
    for Nightfighter Combat Claims, it may help you eliminate some claims but there appear to be at least 3 claims in the vicinity of Braunschweig, so unless you have any further information it may not be possible to narrow the search further. The Bomber Command website which you appear to have checked doesn't provide any information at all, which is quite surprising as that usually collates a lot of the available information "out there".
    Sorry, can't be of more help.

Thanks

Alan,

Via Ancestry, the Death's Index shows Bert Harold Cave born 10 June 1924, death regd Dec 1989 aged 65 in Blackburn Lancashire. Could this be your man?

Regards
    Martyn

Thanks

Hello Alan

I might suggest you try WWII talk or WWII forums as well as the Luftwaffe Experten forum.