Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cheshire's ACE?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Cheshire's ACE?

    Hello all,

    I wonder if you can help me please. I'm just trying to establish which Clasp Leonard Cheshire had on his Air Crew Europe star.

    One source states that it was the Atlantic clasp, but I thought it would have been the France & Germany one.

    Could anyone confirm which one he had please?

    Many thanks,

    Jon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kenya
    Posts
    710
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Jon,

    I am 99% certain it was the Atlantic clasp. As you know, you are only allowed one clasp and it was equivelent to the second star awarded.

    The IWM holds his medals I believe.

    Rgds

    Jonny
    In fond memory of Corporal James Oakland AGC (RMP), killed in action in Afghanistan on 22 October 2009. Exemplo Ducemus.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Blimey, that was quick!

    Thanks very much for such a speedy reply Jonny.

    Jon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lions Bay, BC
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    My bet is the France-Germany, unless he was attached to Coastal Command at some point. However, he was in the Far East and flew on the Atomic Bomb Raid to Nagasaki. Perhaps people on the British Medals Forum would know.

    Jim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    I am looking at a picture of it although it's mostly hidden. Looks like the last 3 letters are "tic".
    Dave Wallace

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Yes it is the Atlantic Bar, Cheshire while on his second tour he ferried aircraft from USA and Canada !

    I always find it strange that when Cheshire was awarded his V.C he was not entitled to any campaign medal, due to the one clasp rule !

    Also when he flew as an official observer in an observation B29 on the dropping of the second atomic bomb at Nagasaki. He didn't recive the Pacific Star as he was non operational !

    Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •