Thread: Spitfire Kh-J

Thanks

Default Spitfire Kh-J

Hi all,

I am not an expert on RCAF squadrons and I would need to identify a Spitfire that landed at Gonneville Sur Mer in June 1944.
    I have a picture that is showing its code: KH-J.
    Could someone help to identify that aircraft? I think it might be MH 928, but I am not sure. Any information would help.

Thanks for your help & regards,

Ludo

Thanks

Hello Ludo,

Welcome onboard !

You have posted on the wrong forum. (Moved to General Board - Ross)

It's difficult to answer your question without seeing the actual picture (you can't attach pictures to your message, but you can put a link to a website hosting pictures).

KH were the code letters of No. 403 Squadron.

MH928 was a Spitfire IX, which was lost on 29th June 1944, pilot was Warrant Officer R.C.A. SHANNON, who evaded capture. During the afternoon, he was flying an armed recce and was hit by Flak and suffered combat damage. He went missing near Lisieux. He was of No. 403 Squadron.

May be a Canadian member of the board might be able to fill in the gaps and confirm MH928 was KH-J.

Joss

Thanks

This is my first post here in your forum. These are the some of the Spitfires that where with 403 Squadron, the types that were in service, and there dates. I am sorry, I have no records on the MK IX or MK IXB. This info will at least help to eliminate other aircraft. Perhaps the aircraft you are looking for was a MK IXB?

Supermarine Spitfire MK.I KH-J X4026 (Mar - Jun 41)

Supermarine Spitfire MK.IIA KH-J XP7368 (Jul - Sep 41)

Supermarine Spitfire MK.VB & VC KH-J R7266 (4-21 - Aug 41)

Supermarine Spitfire MK.VB KH-J W3938 (Sep 41 - Jan 43)

Supermarine Spitfire MK.IX KH-J ????? (Jan 43 - Feb 44)

Supermarine Spitfire MK.IXB KH-J ????? (Feb 44 - Dec 44)

Supermarine Spitfire MK.XVI KH-J ????? (Dec 44 - July 45)

Thanks

G'day Ludo

According to the squadron ORB's there were ten Spitfires that were coded KH-J during the war.