Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shrewsbury Spitfire

Thanks

Default Shrewsbury Spitfire

Hi, I am a journalist and have been chatting to Mr Wally Milne, ex-118 Squadron, previously with 19 Squadron, who is now 93 and has just returned to England after many years in Zimbabwe. He tells me he was the first pilot to fly a Spitfire bought by the people of Shrewsbury. It was, he says, delivered brand new to 118 Squadron at Filton from the factory, and he flew it on operations from RAF Ibsley during 1941. He tells me it was one of the first cannon-armed Spitfires, a Spitfire IIb.
    Mr Milne has a picture of it somewhere, but currently cannot find it unfortunately. His logbooks which would have given the serial of this machine were lost in various Zimbabwe upheavals.
    Can anybody tell me the full squadron code of the Shrewsbury Spitfire (Mr Milne does have a couple of shots of 118 Sqn Spitfires - NK-K, NK-E, and NK-Y - so if I had the full code I might be able to tell if one of them is or is not the Shrewsbury Spitfire), its serial number, and anything about it, particularly what became of it after Mr Milne left the squadron late in 1941?
    Also, if anybody had a picture of it... well, I'd be a pig in muck!

hellcat1839

Thanks

Gifts of War - Alphabetical list of presentation Spitfire donors:

Shrewsbury Spitfire Fund, via the Mayor of Shrewsbury, Shropshire: ,6014 6s 8d
    BL365 - SHREWSBURY
    Air Britain: 610/403/421/340/usaaf/26/41 OTU/58 OTU - To 5381M 13.7.45

Thanks

Here's a copy of what the Spitfire Production site has on BL365, with translations of the abbreviations. There is no mention of 118 Sqn, so perhaps there was more than one Shrewsbury Spitfire.

Gifts of War, by Boot and Sturtivant, may have more details but I don't have a copy.

Spitfire BL365
    Mk. Vb (four machine guns, two cannons)
    built at Castle Bromwich Aircraft Factory