Thread: The fate of Stirling IV LJ798

Thanks

Default The fate of Stirling IV LJ798

Hello,

I work as a volunteer for for Second World War Experience centre in Leeds and have been cataloguing numerous pieces of a photo and letter collection assembled by a collector in the SE who unfortunately died and then was passed onto our organisation.

Today I was studying photos belonging to an unknown RAF serviceman.One photo caught my eye because of what I could see in the background.It showed two RAF men sat on a Lancaster tyre.But what was interesting was the aircraft wreckage or remains behind the two men.

I could see the black fuselage of an aircraft which looked like a what was once a heavy bomber.I could read its serial which was LJ978.

This correlates to a Stirling Mark IV glider tug/ paratroop carrier.I could also make out what appeared to be D-day stripes,which suggests that there was a Stirling IV in the background.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Jonathan
    This raised these questions
    1)Did this Stirling crash and was brought back to an MU/RSU to be broken up?
    2)Was it simply Struck Off Charge after the war and cut up?

Knowing anything about where LJ798 was taken/nroken up would help me to understand what the unknown serviceman was doing/where he was likely to be based.

Thanks

Hello,

I quote from "The Stirling Story" by Michael J.F. Bowyer, published by Crécy :
    LJ978 : 6 Maintenance Unit 20 May 1944, 4 OAPU (Overseas Aircraft Preparation Unit) 4 June 1944, St Mawgan 21 June 1944, Mediterrannean Allied Air Command 23 June 1944, 624 Squadron , Struck off charge 31 August 1944.

No mention of a crash but it's a very short career. Are you sure about the serial number ? Not sure from the basic details above that this Stirling took part in the D-Day operations.

Joss

Thanks

Here's the photo,The first letter is a bit hard to see.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4142/4793648199_2803f3d166.jpg