Thread: Battle of Britain - Newfoundlanders in the RAF

Thanks

Default Battle of Britain - Newfoundlanders in the RAF

Hello,

I'm a freelance journalist based in St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada researching a story about Newfoundland-born pilots during the Battle of Britain. I'm hoping to track down as much information as I possibly can. So far, I've only come across one concrete example, Pilot Officer Richard A. Howley of No. 141 Squadron, who was shot down on July 19 while piloting a Defiant. From what I've read, it would seem likely there were other Newfoundlanders in the RAF during the battle.

I'm hoping someone might have some knowledge either about Howley or any other Newfoundland RAF servicemen.

Thank you,

David Whalen

Thanks

David
    A look at Google & 1 example below but, though in the RAF ,not necessarily in the Battle of Britain .The Canadian members may be able to help .

http://www.heritage.nf.ca/law/royal_air.html -------

Volunteers from Newfoundland and Labrador died at a higher rate while serving with the Royal Air Force (RAF) than with any other branch of the British Armed Forces during the Second World War. It is perhaps fortunate that the RAF recruited considerably fewer Newfoundlanders and Labradorians than either the Royal Navy or Artillery. Of the 713 who enlisted, some 20 per cent died before hostilities ended.
    RAF recruit Lloyd Burry, ca. 1940s
    Lloyd Burry, of Greenspond, Newfoundland, served as a wireless air gunner for the Royal Air Force during the Second World War

Anne
    Last edited by aestorm; 5th August 2010 at 22:31.

Thanks

Hi David,
    You will find the answer to your quest regarding those that flew in the Battle of Britain at the following web site. www.bbm.org.uk
    This list is the most accurate and up to date available.
    all the best
    Gerry

Thanks